Glossary: place - island

Search glossary

Honshuu (本州)

Also known as: The Mainland

Lit.: "Main State", the largest and most populous island of Japan, comprising of about 60% of its total area. It has five regions: Chuugoku, Kansai, Chuubu, Kantou, and Touhoku. Three-fourths of the major cities of Japan and 34 out of its 47 prefectures are located on this island.

Kyuushuu (九州)

Also known as: Kyuukoku (九国: “nine states”), Chinzei (鎮西: “west of the pacified area”), Tsukushi-shima (筑紫島: “island of Tsukushi”), Saikaidou (西海道: “West Sea Route”).

Lit.: "Nine Provinces", the third-largest and most southerly and westerly island of Japan. Its name comes from the former provinces of Japan situated on the island: Chikuzen, Chikugo, Hizen, Higo, Buzen, Bungo, Hyuuga, Osumi, and Satsuma. It is now comprised of the prefectures of Fukuoka, Kagoshima, Kumamoto, Miyazaki, Nagasaki, Ooita, Saga, and Okinawa.

Van der Veer Island (ヴァン・ダー・ヴィーア島)

Van der Veer Island is a tropical volcanic island located in the territory of Cimarron. It's about 100 kilometers in diameter and has lots of hot springs and a sea rich in seafood. Its main industry is tourism, and it is famous for its yearly Fire Festival. The demon sword Morgif was discovered in a hot spring on the island.