Glossary: place - mountain

Search glossary

Chausu-yama (茶臼山)

A mountain located in Nagano Prefecture, whose name translates to "tea-mortar mountain" because it is shaped like the mortar used to grind green tea in Japanese tea ceremonies. This is where the Takeda army set up its battle formations in the Battle of Kawanakajima.

Fuji-san (富士山)

Mount Fuji is the highest mountain in Japan, an active volcano, and one of its "Three Holy Mountains," frequently depicted in literature and art. It is popular tourist and mountain-climbing destination.

Fukazawa-yama (深沢山)

Now known as: Shiro-yama (Castle Mountain/城山), Hachioujishiro-yama (八王子城山)

A mountain located in Tokyo, 445.5 meters in height. Houjou Ujiteru built his Hachiouji Castle at the summit. The "Hachiouji Castle Ruins Tunnel", a part of the Kenou Expressway, now passes beneath it.

Haguro-san (羽黒山)

One of the three sacred mountains of Dewa, a major pilgrimage destination for followers of Shugendou. It contains a 600-year old Five-Story Pagoda, built of wood without a single nail.

Hakone-yama (箱根山)

Mt. Hakone is a volcano centered in Hakone Town, Kanagawa Prefecture and a designated part of the Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park. Lake Ashi lies against the south-western wall of the Hakone caldera, and many hot springs such as Hakone Onsen and Yugawara Onsen well up from its sides and base. It has been a health resort area such ancient times, and is now a well-known sight-seeing area.

Hiei-zan (比叡山)

Mt. Hiei is a mountain to the northeast of Kyoto on which the Buddhist Tendai Enryaku Temple was founded by Saichou in 788. Oda Nobunaga razed its temples and towns and massacred its inhabitants in 1571 to check the power of the Tendai warrior monks, who had long been his enemies due to their strength and independence.

The temple was rebuilt and is still the Tendai headquarters.

Ishigaki-yama (石垣山)

Mount Ishigaki is a mountain located in Odawara City, Kanagawa Prefecture 241.6 meters (792 feet) in height. It is located 2.8 kilometers (1.7 miles) to the south-west of Odawara Castle and is famous for being the place where Toyotomi Hideyoshi built his stronghold, the One-Night Castle, in 1590 during the Siege of Odawara. It was designated a historical landmark in 1959.

The mountain was originally known as Mt. Kasagake, but was renamed Ishigaki, or "stone wall" for the castle ramparts after the siege. Hideyoshi's troops started the castle on April 5th and completed it on June 26th, and it was the first all-stone castle built in the Kantou. The summit of Mt. Ishigaki offered an unbroken view of the entire Odawara Castle area.

Jinba-san (陣馬山)

A mountain located on the border between Hachiouji City, Tokyo and Sagamihara City, Kanagawa Prefecture. It was chosen as one of the 50 scenic locations of Kanagawa Prefecture.

The name of the mountain was once written with the characters 陣場 (pronounced the same), which literally means "place of encampment", and it was thus named because it was the place where the Takeda army camped during its attack on the Houjou Takiyama Castle. The name was changed to its present form with "place" replaced by "horse" in the 1950s when the Keio Corporation built a white horse at the summit to promote tourism.

Jouzan (城山)

Also called: Jouyama

Lit.: "Castle Mountain", located in the north-west of Matsumoto City.

Kamiyama (神山)

Lit.: Holy Mountain; Kamiyama is the highest peak of Mt. Hakone at 1,438 meters (~4717.8 feet) and is located to the east of Lake Ashi. It has been worshiped as a sacred mountain since ancient times.

It takes around an hour and thirty minutes to hike to Kamiyama from the top of Komagatake.

Kanmurigatake (冠ヶ岳)

Komagatake is one of the lava domes in the central dome of the Hakone Volcano and stands 1409 meters (~4622.7 feet). It is located to the north of Kamiyama and Komagatake.

Keshibouzu-yama (芥子坊主山)

Lit: Poppy/Mustard Priest Mountain; a mountain near Matsumoto which offers quiet hiking paths, camping, and a viewing platform at its summit from which one can see the Northern Japanese Alps.

Komagatake (駒ヶ岳)

Komagatake is one of the lava domes in the central dome of the Hakone Volcano, formed around 400,000 years ago.

Komagatake can be reached via the Hakone Komagatake Ropeway from the eastern bank of Lake Ashi.

Mount Kunou (久能山)

Mt. Kunou is a steep mountain 216 meters high (709 feet) high located on Suruga Bay, Shizuoka Prefecture. In the Asuka Period Kunou Tadahito of the Fujiwara Clan began building a temple near present-day Kunou-zan Toushou-guu which the monk Gyouki named Kunou Temple in the later Nara Period.

In 1570 Takeda Shingen built Kunou Castle there, moving the temple to what is now Shimizu Ward. The Tokugawa Clan took control of Suruga Province after the fall of the Takeda Clan and continued to maintain the fortifications on Mt. Kunou. After Tokugawa Ieyasu's death, his son Tokugawa Hidetaka erected the first Toushou Shrine on Mt. Kunou and buried Ieyasu there. Though Ieyasu's grandson Tokugawa Iemitsu relocated Ieyasu’s grave to the Nikkou Toushou-guu, it is held that a portion of his deified spirit remains on Mt. Kunou.

Nantai-san (男体山)

Also known as: Futara-san (二荒山)

Mount Nantai is one of the 100 famous mountains in Japan, located in Nikkou, Tochigi Prefecture and formed from a stratovolcano. It is worshiped as a sacred mountain and was first scaled by Shoudou in 782, who founded the first shrines there.

Nikkou-san (日光山)

Mt. Nikkou, located in the north-west part of Tochigi Prefecture, is one of the 100 famous mountains of Japan and centers on Mt. Nantai, Mt. Nyohou, and Mt. Tarou.

Nishizaka (西坂)

Lit. "western hill"; the hill in Nagasaki City where six European priests and twenty of their followers were crucified in Feb. 5, 1597 under Hideyoshi's ban on Christianity. Pope Pius IX canonized them as the "twenty-six saints of Japan" in 1862, and a memorial with images of the twenty-six was erected at the site in 1962.

Ryuuou-zan (龍王山)

Lit.: "Dragon-King Mountain", so named as a prayer to the gods for rain (the Dragon King is the god of rain). Located near Tenri City in Nara, Mt. Ryouuou is home to the Chougaku Temple and at one time the Ryuuouzan Castle.

Saijo-yama (妻女山)

A mountain used by Uesugi Kenshin during the Battle of Kawanakajima as one of his camps.

Tanzawa-sanchi (Tanzawa Mountains)

The Tanzawa Mountains, or Tanzawa Mountain Range, covers the northwestern part of Kanagawa Prefecture and touches the borders of Shizuoka Prefecture to the west and Yamanashi Prefecture to the north.

Tate-yama (館山)

There are several mountains called Mt. Tate ("tate" meaning "mansion" or "small castle") in Japan. The Mt. Tate referenced in the Houjou arc of Mirage of Blaze is located near the south-western tip of Chiba Prefecture. It was a part of Awa-no-kuni in the Sengoku Era and ruled by the Satomi Clan, who built Tateyama Castle there. Tateyama City grew out of the old castle town.

Tateshina-yama (蓼科山)

Also called: Suwafuji (i.e. the Fuji of Suwa)

A mountain located in Nagano Prefecture and among the 100 famous mountains of Japan.