Glossary: Shitennou

Search glossary

Shitennou (四天王)

The Four Heavenly Kings are gods who watch over the four cardinal directions of the world. Each commands a legion of supernatural creatures to protect the world and Dharma, and fight evil.

They are:

- Jikokuten, the Watcher of the Lands, guardian of the East
- Zouchouten, Patron of Growth, guardian of the South
- Koumokuten, He Who Sees All, guardian of the West
- Bishamonten, He Who Hears All, chief of the Four Heavenly Kings and guardian of the North