Glossary: Honshuu

Search glossary

Honshuu (本州)

Also known as: The Mainland

Lit.: "Main State", the largest and most populous island of Japan, comprising of about 60% of its total area. It has five regions: Chuugoku, Kansai, Chuubu, Kantou, and Touhoku. Three-fourths of the major cities of Japan and 34 out of its 47 prefectures are located on this island.