Glossary: Roku Dou Sekai

Search glossary

Roku Dou Sekai (六道世界)

Also known as: Roku Dou Kai (六道界), Roku Dou (六道)

Lit. "Six Path Worlds" or just "Six Paths"; a Buddhist belief stemming from Hinduism which says that all beings are trapped within a cycle of life and death and are born into one of six realms until they are enlightened and can break free from the cycle. The six realms are: Jigoku Dou, Gaki Dou, Chikushou Dou, Ashura Dou, Nin Dou, and Ten Dou.